Sign up for updates

Black Milk Announces 25-Date “Claps And Slaps” Tour

January 31, 2012 12:29 pm

Following a year that saw an impressively diverse output even without a solo album, Black Milk announces his largest North American tour to date. The 25-date national trek, dubbed the “Claps And Slaps Tour”, launches in Providence, Rhode Island on February 25, and continues throughout the month of March, touching New York City, Chicago, Los Angeles and San Francisco, with many more stops along the way (complete routing below).

In addition to his talents as both an emcee and producer, Black Milk is a commanding and accomplished stage performer whose explosive live shows are often cited among hip hop’s best. After over 75 performances worldwide in support of 2010’s Album of the Year, he will once again team up with his band Nat Turner (led by Aaron “Ab” Abernathy) who inject doses of funk, soul, gospel, and rock into his constantly expanding catalog.

Despite his extensive tour schedule, Black Milk managed to release several new projects in 2011. He produced the long-awaited debut album for his group Random Axe (with Sean Price and Guilty Simpson), dropped the Black and Brown EP with the eccentric rising star Danny Brown, and even released a single and live album via White Stripe’s frontman Jack White’s label Third Man Records.

The upcoming year looks to be another wide-ranging and eclectic one for Black Milk, who is set to release a new instrumental project in the spring titled The Practice as a part of a new series called “Fuzz, Freqs, & Colors”. He also continues work on his soul project Searching for Sanity with vocalist Melanie Rutherford, as well as the anticipated full-length follow up to Album of the Year.

The Claps And Slaps Tour will also feature opening support from Seattle up-and-comer J. Pinder and the dynamic Dallas duo A.Dd+. J. Pinder is one of the new school of hip-hop ambassadors for his hometown of Seattle, having gained critical notoriety with his mixtape Backpack Wax with veteran Seattle producer/DJ Vitamin D, and his own EP Code Red. A.Dd+’s album When Pigs Fly was called “the best hip hop album Dallas has ever released” by the Dallas Observer, and it headed the list of Pitchfork’s “Most Underrated Rap Releases” of 2011. They’re currently working on their follow up with production from S1, Black Milk, and their in-house producer Picnic Tyme.

Additional support for the Claps And Slaps Tour is provided by FluD Watches and Fusicology.

Saturday, February 25 – Providence, RI – Fete
Monday, February 27 – Boston, MA – Middle East
Tuesday, Feburary 28 – Philadelphia, PA – Silk City
Wednesday, February 29 – New York, NY – Knitting Factory
Thursday, March 1 – Pittsburgh, PA – Shadow Lounge
Friday, March 2 – Cleveland, OH – Grog Shop
Saturday, March 3 – Kalamazoo, MI – The Strutt
Tuesday, March 6 – Ann Arbor, MI – Blind Pig
Thursday, March 8 – Toronto – Great Hall
Friday, March 9- Chicago – Subterreanean
Saturday, March 10 – Grand Rapids, MI – The Intersection
Sunday, March 11 – St. Louis – Gramophone
Monday, March 12 – Nashville – TBD
Friday, March 16 – San Diego – House of Blues
Saturday, March 17 – Scottsdale, AZ – Chaser’s
Sunday, March 18 – Los Angeles – The Roxy
Tuesday, March 20 – Santa Barbara, CA – Velvet Jones
Wednesday, March 21 – Fresno, CA – Fulton 55
Thursday, March 22 – San Francisco – 330 Ritch
Friday, March 23 – Portland, OR – Crown Room
Saturday, March 24 – Vancouver, BC – Fortune Sound Club
Sunday, March 25 – Seattle, WA – The Crocodile
Wednesday, March 28 – Minneapolis MN – 7th Street Entry
Thursday, March 29 – Iowa City – Mission Creek Festival
Friday, March 30th – Toledo OH – Frankie’s Underground